Miller, founder and president of the Cedar Falls Trust and
Savings Bank was born in this house in 1869. Built in the
late 1860s, this home was decorated in many different styles,
including Victorian, Greek Revival and many others. Tally
Ho boasts eight rooms on the first floor and six rooms on
Fovall purchased the house in the late 1930s and began to
redesign the interior. A tearoom, called Tally Ho, opened
on July 1, 1936 and offered many types of salads and dressings.
By 1937, Mrs. Fovall's dressing recipe had become so popular
that it was packaged and sold in stores from Waterloo and
Mason City. Eventually, the tea room closed so that the
entire first floor of the home could be used to produce
and store Tally Ho dressing.
In 1977, David
and Connie Sullivan, who then moved the business to Industrial
Park, purchased the Tally Ho Dressing Company. The Sullivan’s
have since begun to renovate the home into a private residence.